Mr. Speaker, St. Georges Anglican Church opened its door to Haligonians in 1800. The church was built by Edward, Duke of Kent, father of Queen Victoria, then the commander of the Halifax garrison. It was architecturally a perfect circle and for almost two centuries a unique landmark in our city.
In 1917 the church was seriously damaged in the Halifax explosion. It survived and in 1983 the Prince and Princess of Wales attended the rededication ceremony which stood in testimony to the devotion of those who undertook the task of restoring it.
In 1990 it was designated a national historic site.
Unfortunately two weeks ago this magnificent building was nearly ruined as a fire gutted its walls and destroyed a third of its structure. It is estimated that the total restoration cost will far exceed the $1 million in insurance.
To date congregation members have begun a nation-wide fundraising campaign to restore this historic landmark to its original beauty.
All Haligonians, all Nova Scotians and indeed all Canadians want to stand with them and hope that they will restore this great site.