House of Commons photo


Crucial Fact

  • Her favourite word was status.

Last in Parliament October 2015, as Conservative MP for London North Centre (Ontario)

Lost her last election, in 2015, with 31% of the vote.

Statements in the House

Restoring Mail Delivery for Canadians Act June 25th, 2011

Mr. Speaker, I have heard the statement by the member opposite and I must say that I am quite concerned. This Conservative government is committed to passing Bill C-6, the restoring mail delivery for Canadians act to ensure that mail delivery resumes.

I have heard from many of my constituents, including workers from Canada Post, who are outraged that the opposition continues to stop passage of this very important piece of legislation. By stalling passage of this bill, the opposition is saying no to seniors who are asking for their pension cheques, no to parents asking for their child tax credit benefits, no to disabled Canadians asking for their disability cheques, and no to small businesses who want to pay their bills and mail cheques to employees.

I stand in this House today listening to the member opposite who spoke about fairness in his speech. Will my NDP colleague join the members on this side of the House by passing this bill quickly and saying yes to the many Canadians who are pleading for mail service to continue.

Honours June 15th, 2011

Mr. Speaker, as this is my first statement in the House, I congratulate you on your new role.

I thank the constituents of London North Centre for giving me the privilege of serving them as their member of Parliament. It is an honour to be here. I also thank my campaign team, the dedicated volunteers who put in countless hours, and my family for standing by me as I hit the pavement on the campaign trail. Without them I would not be here.

Today in my riding, the city of London will be honouring Londoners who are recipients of the Order of Canada and the Order of Ontario. They are: Order of Canada recipient, Hanny Hassan; and Order of Ontario recipients, Dr. Joseph Chin, Gerald Fagan, Elizabeth Hillman Waterston and Professor Gordon McBean.

On behalf of the members of this House, I congratulate the recipients for making me proud and for making London proud.