An Act to change the name of the electoral district of Western Arctic

This bill was last introduced in the 41st Parliament, 2nd Session, which ended in August 2015.

This bill was previously introduced in the 41st Parliament, 1st Session.


Dennis Bevington  NDP

Introduced as a private member’s bill. (These don’t often become law.)


Introduced, as of Oct. 16, 2013
(This bill did not become law.)


This is from the published bill. The Library of Parliament often publishes better independent summaries.

This enactment changes the name of the electoral district of Western Arctic to “Northwest Territories”.


All sorts of information on this bill is available at LEGISinfo, provided by the Library of Parliament. You can also read the full text of the bill.

Electoral Boundaries Readjustment ActRoutine Proceedings

October 21st, 2011 / noon
See context


Dennis Bevington NDP Western Arctic, NT

moved for leave to introduce Bill C-332, An Act to change the name of the electoral district of Western Arctic.

Mr. Speaker, I am pleased to introduce this bill again, although I really do not understand why, after six years, Parliament has not been able to pull together a consensus to do the work that should be done to honour Canadians with the proper appellation attached to each constituency.

My constituency, which lies between Nunavut and Yukon, is called the Western Arctic. The failure of the previous member of Parliament to change the name at the time of division means that my people do not have proper recognition in the House of Commons. This is really unfortunate. I would ask for the unanimous consent of all parties to recognize the people of the Northwest Territories correctly in Parliament.

(Motions deemed adopted, bill read the first time and printed)