An Act to change the name of the electoral district of Western Arctic

This bill was last introduced in the 39th Parliament, 2nd Session, which ended in September 2008.


Dennis Bevington  NDP

Introduced as a private member’s bill. (These don’t often become law.)


Not active, as of June 19, 2008
(This bill did not become law.)


This is from the published bill. The Library of Parliament often publishes better independent summaries.

This enactment changes the name of the electoral district of Western Arctic to “Northwest Territories”.


All sorts of information on this bill is available at LEGISinfo, provided by the Library of Parliament. You can also read the full text of the bill.

Electoral Boundaries Readjustment ActRoutine Proceedings

June 19th, 2008 / 10:05 a.m.
See context


Dennis Bevington NDP Western Arctic, NT

moved for leave to introduce Bill C-573, An Act to change the name of the electoral district of Western Arctic.

Mr. Speaker, I am pleased to introduce this bill, which would change the name of my riding from “Western Arctic” to “Northwest Territories”, just as for the Yukon Territory, the riding is referred to as Yukon, and with Nunavut, the riding is referred to as Nunavut.

After division in 1999, the change of the riding name did not occur for the Northwest Territories. This is a real problem for many people in considering where this riding is. The name of the riding has no relationship to the riding itself. It certainly is not respectful of the great territory of the Northwest that I represent. I would really like to see this name change occur. I have consulted with my constituents over the past year to ensure that they are supportive of the name change and have seen that they are. This would be a good change.

The name of the Northwest Territories is historic and important in Canada. Many of the provinces--