An Act to change the name of the electoral district of Châteauguay—Lacolle


Second reading (House), as of Feb. 10, 2022

Subscribe to a feed (what's a feed?) of speeches and votes in the House related to Bill S-207.


All sorts of information on this bill is available at LEGISinfo, an excellent resource from the Library of Parliament. You can also read the full text of the bill.

An Act to Change the Name of the Electoral District of Châteauguay-LacolleRoutine Proceedings

February 10th, 2022 / 10:05 a.m.
See context


Brenda Shanahan Liberal Châteauguay—Lacolle, QC

moved that Bill S-207, An Act to change the name of the electoral district of Châteauguay—Lacolle, be read the first time.

Mr. Speaker, this morning, I am very pleased to introduce to the House the hon. Senator Dalphond's Bill S-207. I thank him for all the great work he does for our region.

Essentially, this bill seeks to correct a serious error that is unfair to my constituents. Three years ago, I got my bill passed to change the riding name of Châteauguay—Lacolle to “Châteauguay—Les Jardins‑de‑Napierville”.

I do not have time to repeat all of the reasons why this change is so important for the people of my riding, but I think that the fact that the beautiful municipality of Lacolle is not even located within the riding should be enough to convince my hon. colleagues of the legitimacy of our request to change the riding name.

The ball is now back in the House's court, and I humbly ask all of my colleagues to vote in favour of Bill S-207, to vote in favour of “Châteauguay—Les Jardins‑de‑Napierville”.

(Motion deemed adopted and bill read the first time)

Message from the SenateGovernment Orders

February 8th, 2022 / 4:30 p.m.
See context


The Deputy Speaker Conservative Chris d'Entremont

I have the honour to inform the House that a message has been received from the Senate informing this House that the Senate has passed the following bill, to which the concurrence of the House is desired: Bill S-207, An Act to change the name of the electoral district of Châteauguay—Lacolle.