C-22 An Act to establish the National Security and Intelligence Committee of Parliamentarians and to make consequential amendments to certain Acts

Vote topic

16 (1) The appropriate Minister for a department may refuse to provide information to which the Committee would, but for this section, otherwise be entitled to have access and that is under the control of that department, but only if he or she is of the opinion that

(a) the information constitutes special operational information, as defined in subsection 8(1) of the Security of Information Act; and

(b) provision of the information would be injurious to national security.

(2) If the appropriate Minister refuses to provide information under subsection (1), he or she must inform the Committee of his or her decision and the reasons for the decision.

(3) If the appropriate Minister makes the decision in respect of any of the following information, he or she must provide the decision and reasons to,

(a) in the case of information under the control of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, the Civilian Review and Complaints Commission for the Royal Canadian Mounted Police;

(b) in the case of information under the control of the Communications Security Establishment, the Commissioner of the Communications Security Establishment; and

(c) in the case of information under the control of the Canadian Security Intelligence Service, the Security Intelligence Review Committee.

See context in the Debates.


Yes 166
No 128
Green Bloc NDP Conservative
Paired 2


Didn't vote Maxime Bernier
Didn't vote Steven Blaney
Didn't vote Michael Chong
Didn't vote Todd Doherty
Didn't vote Ed Fast
Didn't vote Kellie Leitch
Didn't vote Phil McColeman
Didn't vote Larry Miller
Didn't vote Deepak Obhrai
Didn't vote Erin O'Toole
Didn't vote Lisa Raitt
Didn't vote Alain Rayes
Didn't vote Andrew Scheer
Didn't vote Bradley Trost
Didn't vote Cathay Wagantall




Didn't vote Vance Badawey
Didn't vote Chris Bittle
Didn't vote Randy Boissonnault
Didn't vote Wayne Easter
Paired Judy Foote
Didn't vote Kent Hehr
Didn't vote Yvonne Jones
Didn't vote Dominic LeBlanc
Didn't vote Lawrence MacAulay
Didn't vote John McKay
Didn't vote Geoff Regan
Didn't vote Ramesh Sangha
Didn't vote Judy Sgro
Didn't vote Brenda Shanahan